Dueling Revived Academy
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Latest topics
» anyone still around?
by Ghost Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:04 am

» 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament Deck-builder Application
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:42 pm

» The 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:28 pm

» War Team post preview not offical
by Chaos Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:56 pm

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Battle Phase and Damage Step
by D.D. Eatos Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:11 am

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: End Phase
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:11 am

» New Testing Rubric
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:53 am

» Yin's original Story
by Yin~ Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:49 pm

» Ally of Justice Catastor Ruling
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:46 pm

» Credits: Rulings
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:15 pm

Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

Go down

Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks Empty Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks

Post  D.D. Eatos on Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:59 am

There has been questions about if you can chain Bottomless Trap Hole to Torrential Tribute and Mirror Force to Magic Cylinder. The answer..... is yes you can.

Why is this you may ask?
You can still respond to 1 Summon or Attack with multiple cards that responds to the specified action as long as it is in the same chain as the responding card and it's activation condition is met.

Can I chain Solemn Warning to the summon later in a chain?
No you cannot. If you respond with Bottomless Trap Hole and he/she responds with Forbidden Lance, you cannot chain with Solemn Warning to the summon because, by activating a non-Counter Trap, you have allowed the summon. For you to activate Solemn Warning, or any card that negates a summon, to a summon, you must activate it directly to the summon as Chain Link 1, no later.

Can I respond to an attack even though it is Chain Link 2 or higher?
Yes you can. As long as the it is in the same Chain Link as the first card that responded to the summon, you can activate cards link Mirror Force at Chain 18 or whatever. This applies for Summon Response cards as well.

Can I activate Mirror Force or Torrential Tribute, after a Chain Resolves?
No, 1 Chain Link per action.

The examples will sound silly, but it is a rule in Yu-Gi-Oh! and it will help you get ahead of your opponent


Response to a Summon

Player A has Wind-Up Magician, Wind-Up Shark, Forbidden Lance, and Mystical Space Typhoon in Hand.
Player B has Torrential Tribute and Chain Disappearance set and Effect Veiler in hand.

    Player A Normal Summons Wind-Up Magician and activates Wind-Up Shark to the Summon.
    Player B responds with Torrential Tribute
    Player A responds with Forbidden Lance
    Player B responds with Effect Veiler
    Player A responds with Mystical Space Typhoon targeting Player B's last set card
    Player B responds with Chain Disappearance
    Chain Link Resolves
    Chain Link 6: Chain Disappearance banishes Wind-Up Magician and all copies in Player A's deck and hand.
    Chain Link 5: Mystical Space Typhoon destroys Chain Disappearance
    Chain Link 4: Effect Veiler effect resolves, but loses its target
    Chain Link 3: Forbidden Lance resolves, but loses its targets
    Chain Link 2: Torrential Tribute destroys all monsters on the field
    Chain Link 1: Player A Special Summons Wind-Up Shark.

Response to an attack

Player A has Evolsaur Laggia (2 XYZ Materials) on the Field, Book of Moon, Compulsory Evacuation Device, and Trap Stun set on the Field.
Player B has Mirror Force, Magic Cylinder, and Dimensional Prison set on the Field and D.D. Crow in Hand.

    Player A declares an attack with Evolsaur Lagger
    Player B responds with Dimensional Prison and targets Evolzar Laggia
    Player A activates Evolsaur Laggia's effect
    Player B responds with Mirror Force
    Player A responds with Trap Stun
    Player B responds with Magic Cylinder and targets Evolsaur Laggia
    Player A responds with Book of Moon and targets Evolzar Laggia
    Player B responds with D.D. Crow and targets 1 Xyz Material in the Graveyard
    Chain Link Resolves
    Chain Link 7: D.D. Crow banishes the Xyz Material
    Chain Link 6: Book of Moon sets Evolzar Laggia
    Chain Link 5: Magic Cylinder resolves, loses its target
    Chain Link 4: Trap Stun negates all Trap Card effects
    Chain Link 3: Mirror Force resolves with no effect
    Chain Link 2: Evolzar Laggia negates Dimensional Prison's activation
    Chain Link 1: Dimensional Prison resolves

If any of the information provided is false, please present the issue or provide proof of the updated ruling instead of giving this ruing a negative vote.

If I missed anything and/or if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reply to this post.

DRA Staff Administrator
Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Responses to Summons and Attacks 1suXW3t
Junior GFX and Rulings Maker
D.D. Eatos
D.D. Eatos

Posts : 110
Join date : 2013-06-13

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum