Dueling Revived Academy
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Latest topics
» anyone still around?
by Ghost Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:04 am

» 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament Deck-builder Application
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:42 pm

» The 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:28 pm

» War Team post preview not offical
by Chaos Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:56 pm

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Battle Phase and Damage Step
by D.D. Eatos Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:11 am

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: End Phase
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:11 am

» New Testing Rubric
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:53 am

» Yin's original Story
by Yin~ Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:49 pm

» Ally of Justice Catastor Ruling
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:46 pm

» Credits: Rulings
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:15 pm

Bait Doll Ruling

Go down

Bait Doll Ruling Empty Bait Doll Ruling

Post  D.D. Eatos on Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:26 am

Bait Doll Ruling BaitDoll-TF04-JP-VG

Card Name: Bait Doll

Card Type: Normal Spell Card (Spell Speed 1)

Condition: None

Cost: None

Does This Card Target: Yes

Card Text: Target 1 Set card in the Spell & Trap Card Zone; reveal that target, force its activation if it is a Trap Card, then negate its effect if the activation timing is incorrect, and if you do, destroy it. (If it is not a Trap Card, return it face-down.) When this card resolves, shuffle it into the Deck instead of sending it to the Graveyard.

Ruling (Credits to Yu-gi-oh! Wikia)

    *You cannot chain to a Trap Card that was forced to activate by the effect of "Bait Doll" since an existing Chain is in the middle of resolving.

    *You cannot chain Stardust Dragon's Effect to this card's effect because it is not guaranteed to destroy a card.

    *If the target of "Bait Doll" is no longer on the field (if it was sent to the Graveyard with "Emergency Provisions", or destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon", as a chain to the activation of "Bait Doll"), then "Bait Doll" is still shuffled back into the Deck. As long as the activation and effect of "Bait Doll" are not negated, the effect of "Bait Doll" that shuffles it back into the Deck still resolves.

    *If Bait Doll was sent to the graveyard by Destiny HERO - Diamond Dude and then activated next turn, Bait Doll does not return to the Deck.

    *As long as Bait Doll was activated successfully, it will return back to the deck at resolution.

How do you know if the Timing is Legitimate?

A trap that is activated by Bait Doll, must have an independent effect for its activation to be correct.

Ex. If Bait Doll targets a face-down card such as "Gift Card", the activation would be correct and the controller of Bait Doll would gain 3000, and return to the deck.

this is an example of an Illegitimate activation

Ex. Bait Doll targets a Set Solemn Judgement, Solemn Judgement will NOT activate due to Bait Doll and negate Bait Doll.

This is because Solemn Judgement does not have an independent activation.
Solemn Judgement CAN activate and destroy Bait Doll, before its full resolution.

Still don't know what an Independent Effect is?
An Independent Effect is an effect that does not require the activation or does not need to respond to the effect of another card.
Pretend Bait Doll isn't even there, if the card can be activated at any point of the duel without needing some kind of action from other side of the field, then it has an Independent Effect. If not, being forced by Bait Doll will make it's activation wrong and will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

*NOTE: Independent Effect is just a term I use for my explanation, don't use it in a duel.

DRA Staff Administrator
Bait Doll Ruling 1suXW3t
Junior GFX and Rulings Maker
D.D. Eatos
D.D. Eatos

Posts : 110
Join date : 2013-06-13

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum