Menu
Latest topics
» ASKING FOR A MERGER
by ♥♣Remy Lebeau♦♠ Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:55 pm

» So yeah, hi ^-^
by Chaos Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:37 am

» Ugh...... anime why doth thy elude me so?
by Ghost Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:00 am

» STILL THE POTATO
by MegasNexal∞ Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:15 pm

» King Nexy is beck
by Chaos Thu Aug 21, 2014 3:47 am

» Oh my god! :O
by MegasNexal∞ Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:07 am

» im back home
by decker5031 Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:33 am

» Xbox live :D
by decker5031 Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:09 pm

» WILL I BE NEEDING TO TAKE ANOTHER TEST??
by !smash Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:45 am

» Speaking of anime and the like
by Chaos Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:20 pm


Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  D.D. Eatos on Tue Jun 25, 2013 12:55 am

What does is it mean to Negate?
Negating can either mean to remove the existence of or to block off.

What forms of Negate are there?
There are:

    Negating Effects - Stops Spell/Trap and Monster Effects from taking place, but they're activation resolves normally in a chain link.
    Negating Activations - Stops Spell/Trap and Monster Effects from taking place, and removes their existence in a chain link.
    Negating Summons - Stops Monsters with inherent summons from being summoned, if a Nomi or Semi-Nomi monster summon is negated, it cannot be Special Summoned by any means until it returns to the Hand or Deck.



How does Negating work?
This rule only applies to Negating the Summon or the Activation of a card. To negate a card, you must chain the Negating card directly to the Spell/Trap or Monster you want to negate. You cannot wait 1 or 2 chain links before deciding to negate it.


    Ex 1.

    Devan has Compulsory Evacuation Device and Solemn Warning and Emma has Light Pulsar Dragon and Plaguespreader Zombie on the Field with no cards in Hand.

    Emma Synchro Summons Void Ogre Dragoon
    Devan responds with Compulsory Evacuation Device
    Emma negates with Void Ogre Dragoon's Effect
    Chain Link:
    Chain Link 1 Compulsory Evacuation Device
    Chain Link 2 Void Ogre Dragoon
    Resolves:
    Chain Link 2 Void Ogre Dragoon negates the activation of Compulsory Evacuation Device
    Chain Link 1 Compulsory Evacuation Device returns Void Ogre Dragoon
    End of Chain
    Devan cannot negate the sumon of Void Ogre Dragoon with Solemn Warning at this point.

    Ex 2.

    Fluffytots has Deepsea Diva, Atlantean Infantry, and Mermail - Megaloabyss in his hand, and I have Stardust Dragon on the Field. If he uses uses Mermail - Megaloabyss's effect and sends both Deep Sea Diva and Atlantean Infantry to the Graveyard and Special Summons Mermail - Megaloabyss, the chain link would look something like this:

    Since Mermail - Megaloabyss and Atlantean Infantry has the same activation clause and are activated at the same time, Fluffytots can place them in any position he wants in Chain Links 1 and 2, in this case it'll be:

    Chain Link 1: Atlantean Infantry targets Stardust Dragon
    Chain Link 2: Mermail - Megaloabyss

    I cannot respond with Stardust Dragon to negate the activation of Atlantean Infantry because Mermail - Megaloabyss has taken Stardust Dragon's negation slot. So the chain link resolves:

    Chain Link 2: Mermail - Megaloabyss adds Abyss-Sphere to his hand
    Chain Link 1: Atlantean Infantry destroys Stardust Dragon.

    Ex 3.

    Stephanie has Dark Hole in her hand, and DAReezan has Shooting Quasar Dragon and Light and Darkness Dragon (800 ATK/400 DEF)  on the Field. If Stephanie activates Dark Hole, Light and Darkness Dragon (as a mandatory effect) will attempt to negate the activation and activates its effect; so the chain link will look like this:

    Chain Link 1: Dark Hole
    Chain Link 2: Light and Darkness Dragon

    Shooting Quasar cannot negate Dark Hole because Light and Darkness Dragon intervenes the two cards, so Shooting Quasar Dragon is only allowed to negate Light and Darkness Dragon or nothing at all.


Light and Darkness Dragon and Doomcaliber Knight Questions breakdown:
If 2 or more copies of Doomcaliber Knight and/or Light and Darkness Dragon are on the Field and lets say a monster Effect Activates (to have the situations the same for both of them), the Doomcaliber Knight/Light and Darkness Dragon that is chained directly after the the Monster Effect will the one that negates and the other will just activate their effects with no negation.

Commonly asked questions:

Why can't I negate a Fusion Summoned monster or a Ritual Summoned monster with Solemn Warning/Judgement?
You cannot negate the summon of those monsters because they are summoned at the resolution of a card effect. Allowing them to summon is pretty much passing up the opportunity to negate.

Why can't I negate Geartown or Fusion Gate with Solemn Warning?
Solemn Warning can only negate Spell/Traps that special summon when they are activated. When Geartown and Fusion Gate are activated, they do not special summon. If they activate their effects to Special Summon, you still would not have the opportunity to activate Solemn Warning because it lacks the text "When a Spell, Trap, Spell/Trap effect, or Effect Monster's effect is activated" (text from Stardust Dragon).

If Solemn Warning/Judgement has the word "When a monster is Special Summoned...." there would be a possibility for it to negate Ritual Summoned monsters and Fusion Summoned monsters, but since it does not, try settling for Absolute Crusader, Steelswarm Roach, or Heroic Champion - Gandiva.


DRA Staff Administrator

Junior GFX and Rulings Maker

D.D. Eatos
Admin
Admin

Posts: 118
Join date: 2013-06-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  Kitty Cat on Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:57 am

im learning ((:

Kitty Cat

Posts: 9
Join date: 2013-07-16
Age: 20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

very informative!!

Post  SUM_KRAZY_FOOL on Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:08 am

even sum obelisks don't know sum of this stuff - very good lesson



SUM_KRAZY_FOOL
Admin
Admin

Posts: 136
Join date: 2013-06-20
Age: 24
Location: United Kingdom

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  SasukeUchiha on Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:09 pm

sum_krazy_fool wrote:even sum obelisks don't know sum of this stuff - very good lesson
lol yeah

SasukeUchiha

Posts: 209
Join date: 2013-08-01
Age: 16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  decker5031 on Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:23 pm

the fact i just skimmed through i actually learned 1 thing

decker5031

Posts: 59
Join date: 2013-06-11
Age: 13
Location: florida

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  Unlucky0013 on Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:34 pm

my problem:

D.D. Eatos wrote:If Solemn Warning/Judgement has the word "When a monster is Special Summoned...." there would be a possibility for it to negate Ritual Summoned monsters and Fusion Summoned monsters,...

the first six words of solemn warning: "When a monster would be Summoned,"


Unlucky0013

Posts: 155
Join date: 2013-06-12
Location: Dallas

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Negating

Post  D.D. Eatos on Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:56 pm

unlucky0013 wrote:my problem:

D.D. Eatos wrote:If Solemn Warning/Judgement has the word "When a monster is Special Summoned...." there would be a possibility for it to negate Ritual Summoned monsters and Fusion Summoned monsters,...
the first six words of solemn warning: "When a monster would be Summoned,"

yes, "would be" not "IS" as I stated, big difference :p.


DRA Staff Administrator

Junior GFX and Rulings Maker

D.D. Eatos
Admin
Admin

Posts: 118
Join date: 2013-06-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum