Menu
Latest topics
» anyone still around?
by Chaos Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:03 pm

» 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament Deck-builder Application
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:42 pm

» The 96th Annual Duel Cruiser Tournament
by Chaos Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:28 pm

» War Team post preview not offical
by Chaos Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:56 pm

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: Battle Phase and Damage Step
by D.D. Eatos Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:11 am

» Yu-Gi-Oh! Basics: End Phase
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:11 am

» New Testing Rubric
by D.D. Eatos Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:53 am

» Yin's original Story
by Yin~ Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:49 pm

» Ally of Justice Catastor Ruling
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:46 pm

» Credits: Rulings
by D.D. Eatos Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:15 pm


Trap: Continuous

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Trap: Continuous

Post  D.D. Eatos on Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:41 am


A Continuous Trap card is a trap that stays face-up for the entire duration of the duel until it's destroyed or has an effect that destroys itself when a certain condition is met.

A Continuous Trap card only has an effect as long as it remains either face-up on the field OR during the resolution of a chain. Unlike Continuous Effect monsters, they have to completely resolve their activation before their effect can be used,

A simpler way of say that is; if a continuous trap card is destroyed or removed from the field by a card like, Mystical Space Typhoon, its effect will disappear regardless if it was negated or not.

Ex.

Player A: Synchro Summons Blood Mefist
Player B: Responds and activates Royal Oppression along with activating it's effect and paying 800 to destroy Blood Mefist.
Player A: Chains with Mystical Space Typhoon and targets Royal Oppression.
Chain Link Resolves
Chain Link 2: Mystical Space Typhoon destroys Royal Oppression
Chain Link 1: Royal Oppression resolves, but it does not destroy Blood Mefist

Here's another if you don't understand.

Player A has Beast King Barbaros (1900 ATK/ 1000 DEF) on the field along with a facedown Skill Drain
Player B has Malice Dispersion and 1 card in his/her hand.
Player A: Activates Skill Drain and pays 1000 LP
Player B chains Malice Dispersion and discards 1 card.
Chain Link Resolves
Chain Link 2: Malice Dispersion destroys Skill Drain
Chain Link 1: Skill Drain resolves, but its effect disappears
Beast King Barbaros's attack remains at (1900 ATK/ 1000 DEF)

If a continuous trap card is activated but its target(s) is removed from it's designated area, then it will remain on the field with no effect.

Ex.

Player A: Activates Call of the Haunted and targets Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon
Player B: Chains with D.D. Crow, sending it to the graveyard and targets Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon
Chain Link Resolves
Chain Link 2: D.D. Crow removes from play Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon
Chain Link 1: Call of the Haunted resolves but summons nothing and remains on the field.

If a continuous trap card has fully resolved while equipped to a monster and later removed from the field, INSTEAD of the way it is written on the text, the continuous trap card will remain on the field with no effect.

Ex.

Player A has a Scrap Golem equipped to Call of the Haunted and Scrap Beast on the field.
If Player A synchro summons for Scrap Twin Dragon with Scrap Golem and Scrap Beast, then Call of the Haunted will remain on the field with no effect because Scrap Golem was not "destroyed" on the field.

If Royal Decree is activated on the field while continuous trap cards are on the field, those other continuous trap cards will not be sent to the graveyard. Continous traps that equip to monsters will not re-equip itself even if Royal Decree is removed.

If Royal Decree is chained to a continuous trap card, the continuous trap card will remin on the field with its effect negated until Royal Decree is removed.

If Royal Decree is activated while Trap Monsters are face-up on the field, they will return face-up in the Spell/Trap Zone even after Royal Decree is later removed from the field.

Ex.

Fiendish Chain


Type: Trap (Continuous)
Text: Target 1 face-up Effect Monster on the field; that target's effects are negated, also that target cannot attack. When that target is destroyed, destroy this card.


Zoma the Spirit


Type: Trap (Continuous)
Text: Special Summon this card in Defense Position as an Effect Monster (Zombie-Type/DARK/Level 4/ATK 1800/DEF 500). (This card is also still a Trap Card.) If this card is destroyed by battle: Inflict damage to your opponent equal to the ATK of the monster that destroyed it.


DRA Staff Administrator

Junior GFX and Rulings Maker
avatar
D.D. Eatos
Admin
Admin

Posts : 110
Join date : 2013-06-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum